To spread knowledge

The Foundation of the Jewish Culture Museum Augsburg-Swabia was established in 1984 as a public foundation under civil law by then President of the Israelite Religious Community Swabia-Augsburg Senator Julius Spokojny. The stated purpose of the foundation was “to spread knowledge of Jewish culture by cooperation with organizations of similar purpose, by tours, exhibitions and lectures and finally by cooperation with other museums pursuing the same or similar aims.” Members of the foundation board and council contribute their time pro bono.

Chair of the board

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Hans-Eberhard Schurk (since Jan. 1, 2017)

Former chairs of the board:
Senator Helmut Hartmann, Ret. (2007 to 2016)
Dr. Manfred Worm (2002 to 2006)
Dr. Iradj Neman (until 2002)

Foundation Council

Dr. Georg Haindl, Chair of the Foundation Council (since 2005)
Dr. Walter Eschle, Vice Chair of the Foundation Council (since 2006)
The sitting chair of the Israelite Religious Community (IKG) Swabia-Augsburg or his or her acting deputy; currently: President Alexander Mazo
A representative of the City of Augsburg, insofar as possible from the Office of the City Cultural Coordinator
A representative of the District of Swabia
Dr. Iradj Neman (since 2002)
Silvio Wyszengrad (since 2002)
Marie-Loiuse Pachmann-Priller (since 2022)

In order to optimize our website for you and to be able to continuously improve it, we use cookies for analysis after your consent. Further information is available in our Privacy Policy.